Arkansas Legislative Black Caucus Selects New Officers

The legislators will serve in their roles from 2021 to 2022.

Arkansas Legislative Black Caucus

Representative Monte Hodges will serve as the president of the Arkansas Legislative Black Caucus. He succeeds outgoing president Senator Joyce Elliott. Hodges is a banker from Blytheville representing District 55, who is beginning his fifth term.

Sen. Linda Chesterfield has been selected as the ABLC’s vice president. A retired public school teacher from Little Rock, Chesterfield represents District 30 and is beginning her fifth term in the Senate. She previously served three two-year terms in the House.

Rep. Jay Richardson is a business development professional from Fort Smith, representing District 78. He is beginning his second term and will be the group’s secretary.

Rep. Jamie Scott is filling the treasurer position. Scott is a director of youth services in Pulaski County and represents District 37 in North Little Rock. She is beginning her second year in the House.

Other members of the Arkansas Legislative Black Caucus are Sen. Joyce Elliott of Little Rock, Sen. Stephanie Flowers of Pine Bluff, Rep. Fred Love of Little Rock, Rep. David Fielding of Magnolia, Rep. Fred Allen of Little Rock, Rep. Reginald Murdock of Marianna, Rep. Vivian Flowers of Pine Bluff, Rep. Ken Ferguson of Pine Bluff, Rep. Milton Nicks of Marion, Rep. Denise Ennett of Little Rock and Rep. Joy Springer of Little Rock.

The caucus is a nonpartisan group, but all of its members are Democrats. The Arkansas Legislative Black Caucus meets at 11 a.m. Mondays.